Deleting Files

When you no longer need a file, you can remove it from your computer to save space and keep your computer from getting cluttered with unwanted files.

 

To delete a file

  1. Right-Click on the file you want to delete and choose Delete.
  2. Click Yes to confirm the delete an send the file to the Recycle Bin

 

 

 

The Recycle Bin

When you delete a file, it's temporarily stored in the Recycle Bin. Think of the Recycle Bin as a safety folder that allows you to recover files or folders that you deleted accidentally. You can retrieve files from the recycle bin until you empty it. When you empty the Recycle Bin, the files are permanently deleted.

 

If you discover that you need a file that you have deleted, you can retrieve the file from the Recycle Bin:

  1. Double-Click the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop
  2. Find and click the file you want to retrieve
  3. Click the File menu and click Restore
  4. The file is removed from the Recycle Bin and goes back to it's previous location

 

Occasionally, you should empty the Recycle Bin to reclaim all of the hard disk space being used by your unwanted files. To permanently delete files from your computer:

  1. Double-Click the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop
  2. Select File > Empty Recycle Bin
  3. Select Yes to confirm permanently deleting the files

 


Other Related Support Topics ...